Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Resolved

Resolved: Rockauto in Lawton, Oklahoma - Rocky Service!

Update by user Dec 30, 2015

The error was corrected and the excess money was returned to my account.

Update by user Dec 29, 2015

Correction I only lost 36.84 in addition to the original 36.84

Original review posted by user Dec 29, 2015

I had an experience recently, where I was double charged for parts that I had ordered for my car. The receipt clearly showed that my account would not be charged, until the parts had shipped; my bank account however showed a different story on the day I placed the order. It showed the item to still be in the warehouse, but my account showed that funds in the amount for the part had been withdrawn. On the actual day of shipping, my account showed that the same amount had been withdrawn again! I called and whoever answered got defensive when I suggested that I might have been "double charged." He asked me if I could think of some other way that it might have happened. I replied calmly that I was probably double charged for the part. He started getting pissy again! He said that the funds were taken out on the day of the transaction and held until the shipping date. I can see that, but then "more money was removed in addition on the actual shipping date!!" that left me in the negative!!! He also said that the money taken out and held, was turned into a charge on the day of shipping; "what twice?!!!"
View full review
Review
#760074 Review #760074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Loss
$74

Rockauto in Farmington, Michigan - Past performance good... current performance BAD

3.7
Details
This is a review for RockAuto's Customer Service, as well as review for their Farmington, Michigan facility/warehouse. RockAuto has been awesome in the past, I have ordered literally worth thousands of dollars for all my cars that I've repaired over the years. NOT TODAY. Or this week. Today all that went down south - an item ordered from them (Sunday night, 12/7/15), supposed to be shipped from the city right next to mine (Farmington, MI to West Bloomfield, MI) never even made it to the Post Office until the end of the week (Friday, Dec 13) - they (R/Auto) printed the label the next day after ordering it, and that's about it. They seem to have kept the item on premises until after my call to their Customer Service (on Dec 11). Check it for yourself: USPS # 9400110200847072612082. Tracking number says it was never even dropped at the post Office until Thurs Dec 12/Friday Dec 13. I am familiar with USPS not updating their tracking info, but that's usually only 1-2 days behind, and when it does eventually update, it has the correct dates displayed. I've literally gotten stuff sent from China, via their post office (cheap mail), sent through OUR USPS, through the Chicago Customs sorting center and reach me faster just last week. RockAuto Customer Service rep stated it takes up to 7 business days for the USPS Priority Mail to deliver - that's complete BS, especially when something gets shipped between 2 adjacent cities. Perfect counterpoint to her BS? USPS says they marked the package as "received" at 2 AM - which tells me someone dropped the package manually into a drop box at the USPS sometime on Dec 12th only AFTER my call to Customer Service (Dec 11). Another BS explanation of hers (the CSR) was that it's the holidays season and everything is slow - seriously? I don't know of a holiday that week - does anyone??? To me it sounds like "We've f'd up, we're just covering our rear, and we won't admit it". CSR wouldn't even wait for me to talk, repeating the same over and over right on top of my voice. Yeah, I'm p'd, especially when I was waiting for this to arrive already so I can get my stuff done on time... Wouldn't you? So then RockAuto formally replies back and blames USPS for moving slow and me for choosing USPS Priority Mail as a service that's not guaranteed... Uhm... Sorry, didn't know USPS prints a shipping label, takes the part, and then hold it on their premises for 4 full days before they even mark it as "received"... Moral of my experience: If you happen to order from other RockAuto locations, quality, accuracy and speed are there to back their previous excellent record ... however, newer locations (such as the Farmington, Michigan) seem to be less-desirable. Unfortunately there is no way a customer would know where the items would come from.... so it's a hit-and-miss .... And the RockAuto customer service is also a hit-and-miss....
View full review
1 comment
lucianpoenaru
#1080255

This is their formal response AFTER my Customer Service call on Dec 11 and subsequent complaint:

Comments

We are sorry if our representative was less than professional and for the delay in receiving this package. This customer placed his order on Monday and chose USPS Priority Mail.

We shipped his order the next day, (** my note: no, you didn't** ) and he received it the following Monday. We are not sure why the USPS did not show tracking updates until Sunday, 12/13/15, (** my note: I do - the package was dropped in a box after hours outside USPS facility on Dec 12** ) but Priority Mail is not a guaranteed service and holiday volume may be a factor in lack of scans and slow shipments. (*** my comment - waay to save your skin!

***). If customers need a shipment by a certain day we offer Express methods for most shipments that are guaranteed.

RockAuto.com commented on 12/16/2015

Review
#753421 Review #753421 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service AND problem with delivery
Tags
  • Slow Shipping - Sucks

Rockauto in Missouri City, Texas - 60 days on what was supposed to be a new starter

1.0
Details
order 37430791 paid for a new starter had to have the truck towed and come to find out i have to pay more money at this point i have gone to my local O'reiellys and had to PAY again simply because it takes week or better now all i want to do is return it and you guys want me to pay more money to ship it back !!!! NEVER will buy anything from youthis is a total rip off and i will fight you to the end so all i want to do is return it to you and if you refund the money ok if you dont lesson learned and i will take to the internet and put the word out about the rip off your company pulls and placing a report with the BBB Your *** parts have cost me enough money and i feel i should not have to pay to send it back
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1094806

Welcome to online ordering. Read the disclaimers before ordering. I am not defending the company, but you get what you pay for.

Review
#750575 Review #750575 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
defected,warranty issues
Loss
$120
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Auto Parts Complaints
  • Beware of RockAuto
  • Fraudulent Return Policy

Rockauto in Oregon, Wisconsin - Rockhead Auto Shisters LLC

2.0
Details
I got ripped off by this company both times I used them for parts. Once might just be a mistake. Twice, I think not. SHISTERS! Parts shipped are faulty and replaced with faulty parts after you pay the shipping over and over. At customer service, the female that answered the phone was polite until it was understood I had a complaint, her supervisor, Benjamin would not provide any information when he figured out I was writing to the Federal Trade Commission and repeatedly referred me to their return policy and hung up on me. I never imagined something like this would happen the day I bought that first part from this outfit. I finally just went to a real auto parts store and bought a real part
View full review
Review
#749096 Review #749096 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Rockauto Shipping Service
Cons
  • Refund policy for defective item
  • Refund policy for their error
  • Manipulating shipping to their advantage to not refund
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Rock Auto Complaint
1.0
Details
Rockauto stole $68.50 with no replacement.
Rockauto stole $68.50 with no replacement.
I purchased the MOOG 81045 rear coil springs for my 06’ T4R V6 4.0L. I had my mechanic installed the spring but as soon as I drive of the shop I noticed a clunking sound. The mechanic told me it takes a week for the springs to settle. I waited a week but every time...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1102268

Been in the repair business forty + years. (tractor/trailer&auto)

Looking at your pictures I see the problem; missing is the insulator pad that goes between the mount and spring. Take a piece of black plastic pipe and slide it over the coil where it contacts the mount.

Hope this helps.

Kirby said it!!!

Review
#746266 Review #746266 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Rockauto Customer Care
Cons
  • People lie stating they will replace but they did not
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$69
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Rockauto in Ashburn, Virginia - Confusing website lists too many options

Almost every other part I have ordered from Rockauto had to be returned or became defective. I can almost live with that because of their low prices and fast shipment. But what really annoys the heck out of me is when you search for a very specific year, make & model and correct engine you still end up with a whole list of parts many of which do not fit your specific vehicle. Take for example shock absorbers for my 1993 Ford F150 Lightning : for this very specific and UNIQUE truck when you search for shocks they list almost every shock that can fit almost ALL Ford trucks : 2 wheel drive, 4 wheel drive, F350, Dually, etc and so forth !! When I asked about this the *** at Rockauto said that this was to give me all the options possible -- doesn't matter if it doesn't fit my truck !!!
View full review
Review
#745860 Review #745860 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Rockauto in New York, New York - They steal your money in bogus shipping cost after selling defected parts

1.7
Details
Rockauto - They steal your money  in bogus shipping cost after selling defected parts
Rockauto - They steal your money  in bogus shipping cost after selling defected parts
Rockauto - They steal your money  in bogus shipping cost after selling defected parts
I ordered a Precise brand fuel pump and the pump screen required for warrantee of the pump. I received a defected pump with a crack by the negative wire hook up point. That was returned and I had then send a replacement. What I got the 2nd time was another Precise fuel pump with the same crack as the first. Because I was not going to try a third of that brand I sent the 2nd pump back along with the same branded fuel pump screen. While I shipped that back I ordered another brand pump and screen. That pump was more money and branded as SPECTRA PREMIUM fuel pump and screen. I received that 3rd pump and that one came defected also with a brass washer jammed under the intake. To top it off the 3rd pump was received with it's hardware bag ripped opened as well as the bag the pump was in. Also the protective outlet plug was missing. It was clear that the pump was a pre sold, defected and returned pump that they simply resold to me knowing it was defected. Now after 3 defected fuel pumps sold and returned with the 2 screens required for pump warrantee. Rock auto refunded the money for the pumps and screen but hit me with 2 counts of bogus shipping rates. Because the pumps were all not useable to me due to Rock Auto selling me junk that made the pump screens useless to me. Rock Auto claims the screens were fine and because I sent them back I do not get refunded for shipping them to me regardless the fact I have no pumps to use them with. I ordered the same manufacture brand screen because not all screens are the same just like any other filter. Some are cheap and not as good as others and being a warrantee issue It's common sense to use the same brand so you get no denial if you need to use the warrantee. I paid 8.07 for shipping to me on the first pump/screen combo. pump weight is near a pound and the screen max of 3oz. and when ordered the screen did not increase any shipping from the base cost of shipping the pump. Rock Auto now claims that the shipping cost of the pump was 2.12 (refunded) and the 3oz. screen cost 5.95 which they did not refund. Other brand pump and screen shipping cost 6.25 when I ordered then together but same story as the first. They claim that the near 1 lb. pump shipping was 1.27 (refunded) and the 3oz. screen was 4.98 and not refunded. When I made this order the shipping slayed the same just like the other and no increase rate when added with the pump. Strange how when ordered the cost to ship the screens were nothing but when returned because of Rock Auto selling me defected parts and creating the screens to be worthless to me they charge me 80% of the original shipping and I got no useable Parts. They claim the screens are still good and I simply returned them because I did not want them regardless the fact they sent me the un useable pumps that they were to be used with and required to keep the warrantee's. They figure the steal you money shipping this way. When you return a part that was part of a group order for any reason that is not defected they take that single item and put it in their shipping program as a single item as if that was the only item in the order. This should and might be illegal and would be a good class action lawsuit.
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#1708172

steal your money and selling you defected parts

Anonymous
#1079893

Rock Auto never contacted me about this mater.

I filed a BBB on Rock Auto about this scam and Rock Auto simply laughed at BBB. Waste of time except it does have a record of this scam practice for others to see.

I then filed a dispute with the credit card company I used on the first order and the claim was decided in my favor refunding me the balance due. I was busy and did not file for the second order till a few days ago and I expect the same outcome.

Bottom line in order to deal with Rock Auto is to go file a dispute with your credit card company to get results but file with the BBB after to let others that they do not deserve the high ratings.

Anonymous
#1621352
@Anonymous

Well its good to Rockauto get what they deserve for once, they've screwed me over so many times with no recourse, BBB complaints are a joke, they will suffer once the customers start dropping like flies.

Anonymous
#1708168
@Joey

end with rockauto,

View more comments (3)
Review
#734555 Review #734555 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Rockauto Shipping Service
Cons
  • Manipulating shipping to their advantage to not refund
  • Being lied to and cheated
  • Shipping
Reason of review
Faulty parts, Rude customer service, steals you money
Loss
$11
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Precise
  • Fuel Pump
  • Rock Auto Complaint

Rockauto in Bethpage, New York - Rock auto sent wrong part (misboxed). Will not send out right part until they receive the part they sent in error. Cost me lost revenue.

1.0
Details
The way this company treats its customers harkens back to the 80's when companies didn't give a hoot, as long as they got your money. A very bad experience with them. Beware this company. Not worth the few extra bucks you save with them. Can't believe a company can work this way in modern times. Reported their policies to Bbb. Will never ever deal with them again. Then Bought the part, from all places, Amazon, who delivered it within two days for the same price. Customer service was less than useless. How to tell if a company is reputable? Try finding a contact number and see where they hid it on their website.
View full review
Review
#732341 Review #732341 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Pics of parts
Cons
  • No effort put forth in resolving issue to customers satisfaction
Reason of review
They sent a misboxed item!!!
Loss
$26
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Auto Parts Complaints

Rockauto - Auto Parts Review from Stafford, Texas

I think that rock auto is a good way to buy parts, I think it's the people that don't order the right parts, rock auto rocks....
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1127369

Just curious how long have you been employeed @ RockAuto.com ?

bilshatri
#1057708

It is your privilege to give Rock Auto a good review. I believe you may change your mind, if you continue to purchase parts from them.

You will find, they will milk you dry, charging you shipping rates from multiple warehouses, instead of one. Good luck in your future projects and I hope you succeed

View more comments (1)
Review
#726477 Review #726477 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality

Rockauto - Strut Mount Review from Roswell, New Mexico

3.0
Details
I bought moog strut mounts and KYB struts for my nissan, when everything was installed all at once, one of the mount was causing a clunking noise and i had to reorder a new mount upon disassembling and strut rod thread was stripped due to defective mount, then i had to buy a new strut, so i request to warranty and they will not warranty or refund my replacement strut for the damaged strut, telling me it "has to fail on it's own" how is that my fault the strut got stripped caused by a faulty mount, and I asked where the stipulation in KYB lifetime warranty says has to fail on itls own? their customer service is a joke and i will not be buying parts from them anymore since warranty is a farce with them and they are clueless how a car part innerworking make up a car.
View full review
1 comment
bilshatri
#1056111

You have my deepest sympathy, this all happened to me. All the complaints I have read, are the same problems.

Always wrong parts and they never rely on their customers, to be correct. They say the manufactures are correct. Where they *** you, the parts are cheap, but you pay to ship from a half dozen different warehouses. Why can't they ship from one facility.

All these complaints, Rock Auto never gets the message and refuse to change their policies. They should be taken out of business, through lack of interest.

Review
#724028 Review #724028 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality